Photo: ADAC Formel Masters
Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Solid Formel ADAC line-up for 2013

Formel ADAC and girl power: Kox and Arbinger

International line-up: 18 drivers from six different countries confirmed. Two new teams join Formel ADAC Academy for 2013.

2013 marks the start of Formel ADAC's sixth year. The junior series has a strong field in prospect for the traditional season opener at the Motorsport Arena Oschersleben (26th - 28th April), and seven different teams intending to contest the 2013 season, with a line-up of some 24 drivers, had already registered by the 1st March deadline. The biggest contingent of competitors, twelve in total, comes from Germany, but this highly international field also includes two Danish drivers, plus one each from Austria, the Netherlands and Switzerland. And, in another first for the Formel ADAC academy, a South African joins the line-up. The teams will be announcing their full squads in the next few weeks.

The 2013 Formel ADAC offers an interesting mix of experienced drivers and talented rookies. 15 young hopefuls will make their Formel ADAC debut, taking part in their very first event in 145-bhp Formel ADAC racing cars powered by Volkswagen.

Two new teams for 2013

Two new teams, Rennsport Rössler and JBR Motorsport & Engineering, will join the Formel ADAC this season. The already well established teams of Lotus and Mücke Motorsport have the largest contingent of drivers, five each, ten in total. Current team champions Lotus are relying on Mikkel Jenson and Callan O'Keeffe to defend their title in 2013. The names of their three other drivers are to be announced. Mücke Motorsport have four rookies on the books this season - Kim Luis Schramm, David Detmers, Maximilian Günther and Giorgio Maggi. Hendrik Grapp, who celebrated his maiden victory in last season's Formel ADAC, completes the line-up for the Berlin-based racing team.

Neuhauser Racing intend to put three Formel ADAC racing cars on the grid this year. Marvin Dienst and Stefan Riener make their first appearance in the Formel ADAC. Nicolas Beer, now in his second season, completes the squad for the Austrian team. Kim Alexander Giersiepen will commence his second year with KSW Motorsport and has a new team-mate - Martin Gatz. Schiller/G&J Motorsport are entering three cars and have already announced the name of one of their drivers - Fabian Schiller.

Formel ADAC and girl power

Newcomers Rennsport Rössler are pinning their hopes on girl power as Tina Arbinger celebrates her debut season in the Formel ADAC. Stéphane Kox is Formel ADAC's second girl power driver. She is the daughter of Dutch racing driver Peter Kox, 2010 ADAC GT Masters Champion. So, for the first time ever, two female drivers in the Formel ADAC in the same season; Dutch teenager Beitske Visser is the most successful lady driver to date in the Formel ADAC with two wins last year.

The second new team, JBR Motorsport & Engineering, has already decided on the driver pairing of Hannes Utsch/Benedikt Gentgen for this season.

Debut for Ardennes 'rollercoaster' at Spa-Francorchamps

Formel ADAC will again be a support series to the ADAC GT Masters in the 2013 season. Eight events featuring 24 races have been calendared. The Spa-Francorchamps Formula 1 circuit and the Slovakiaring will be on the programme for the first time in the junior series.

The Formel ADAC youth development programme has a long track record going back many years, acting as a springboard for a number of future motor racing stars. Formula 1 drivers Sebastian Vettel, Nico Hülkenberg, Nico Rosberg and Timo Glock, plus DTM aces Martin Tomczyk and Ralf Schumacher all began their successful careers in various ADAC single-seater racing series for juniors.

Provisional entry list for the 2013 Formel ADAC season

tba, Lotus
Callan O'Keeffe, Lotus
Mikkel Jensen, Lotus
tba, Lotus
tba, Lotus
Marvin Dienst, Neuhauser Racing
Nicolas Beer, Neuhauser Racing
Stefan Riener, Neuhauser Racing
Maximilian Günther, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.
Kim Luis Schramm, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.
Hendrik Grapp, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.
David Detmers, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.
Giorgio Maggi, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.
tba, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.
Fabian Schiller, Schiller/G&J Motorsport
tba, Schiller/G&J Motorsport
tba, Schiller/G&J Motorsport
Kim Alexander Giersiepen, KSW Motorsport / ADAC Westfalen Team Sport
Martin Gatz, KSW Motorsport / ADAC Westfalen Team Sport
Stéphane Kox, Stéphane Kox
Benedikt Gentgen, JBR Motorsport&Engineering
Hannes Utsch, JBR Motorsport&Engineering
Marco Carrari, Rennsport Rössler
Tina Arbinger, Rennsport Rössler

2014 Season